We are pleased to announce that Dr. Bruce McManus, Director of the Centre of Excellence for the Prevention of Organ Failure, is the recipient of the third annual Aubrey J. Tingle Prize.

Created in honour of founding president & CEO of the Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research, this prize is given to a British Columbia researcher whose work in health research is internationally recognized and has significant impact on advancing clinical or health services and policy research.

As a leading-edge researcher in cardiovascular research, Dr. McManus has made many contributions in the areas of heart injury and failure, and organ transplantation. Some of his most significant contributions include work regarding the diagnosis and treatment of heart muscle injury in relation to viral infection, as well as the prediction, diagnosis, treatment, and management of immune and inflammatory diseases in transplanted patients and in distinct forms of heart failure.

Among recent recognitions, Dr. McManus has received the Milton Wong Leadership Award from LifeSciences BC (2012); Sarrazin Award Lecture from the Canadian Physiological Society (2011); Distinguished Achievement Award from the Society for Cardiovascular Pathology (2010); Research & Mission Award from Providence Health Care (2010); Scientific Excellence Award from the Canadian Society for Atherosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Biology (2009); David F. Hardwick Lifetime Achievement Award (2008), and Research Achievement Award from the Canadian Cardiovascular Society (2005). He is a member of the Royal Society of Canada in the Academy of Sciences (2002).

Dr. Bruce McManus awarded the Aubrey J. Tingle Prize