On July 6th, 2020, the Canadian Donation and Transplantation Research Program announced the results of the 2019 Innovation Grant Competition. We are pleased to announce that Dr. Scott Tebbutt and Dr. Bruce McManus’s projects have been selected to be funded.

“The Canadian Donation and Transplantation Research Program (CDTRP) has supported research and innovation that address barriers within the fields of donation and transplantation, with the ultimate goal of advancing long-term health outcomes and quality of life for Canadian Transplant patients”

Dr. Scott Tebbutt’s project titled “Investigation regulatory T cell gene signature in blood during acute cardiac transplant rejection” explores the changes in Treg activities during acute cellular rejection by quantifying 46 genes in blood that track acute cellular rejection trajectory and Treg activities. Results from this work will provide a complementary diagnostic platform for future investigations of using Treg-based therapies for creating personalized, longer -term immune management strategies for heart transplant patients.

Dr. Bruce McManus’s project titled “Identification of novel cell-specific immunosuppressive therapies from high resolution single-cell RNA sequencing” objective is to confirm cell-specific signature of rejection experimentally and lay the groundwork for the development of novel targeted therapies by using high resolution single-cell transcriptomic profiling (scRNA-seq) and in silico drug discovery strategies. The results will ultimately lead to improved outcomes of transplantation patients.

Congratulation to all 18 recipients! To read more about the CDTRP Grant competitions, please visit: https://cdtrp.ca/en/research-innovation-grant-competition-results/

CDTRP Announces Recipients of 2019 Research Innovation Grant
Tagged on: